STS-118 Mission Journal  

STS-118 Mission Overview

Note: The links below will open up in one new browser window. For best viewing, size the two web browsers so that they don't take up the entire screen - this way, you will be able to go back and forth to all the stories without losing your place.
Click the Refresh button to make sure you have the newest version.


New! NASA Gifts and more at The Space Store!

Pick up some cool Space Toys for your favorite astronaut this holiday season! Click here...

Check our NASA TV page for live feeds!

 

Endeavour's crew. Image courtesy of NASA.
SHUTTLE UPDATE:
 
Endeavour Lands Safely!
NASA image of the updated STS-118 mission patch.
LEFT: STS-118 crew portrait.
RIGHT: Updated STS-118 Mission Patch.

Mission Journal Updates


STS-118 Flight Facts

Mission:   International Space Station Flight 13A.1
Orbiter: Endeavour (OV-105)
Primary Payload: ISS S5 Truss, SPACEHAB-LSM, External Stowage Platform 3
Crew: 7 (6 US, 1 Canadian)
Launch Date: 8 August 2007
Launch Time: 6:36PM EDT (2236 GMT)
Launch Window: 10 minutes
Launch Facility: Kennedy Space Center, Pad 39A
Docking: FD-3 - 10 Aug 2007, 1:51PM EDT (1751 GMT)
EVAs: 4 Spacewalks (FD-4, FD-6, FD-8, FD-11)
Undocking: 19 Aug 2007 (FD-12) 7:56AM EDT (1156 GMT)
Landing: 21 Aug 2007 (FD-14) 12:32PM EDT (1632 GMT)
Landing Facility: Kennedy Space Center (Runway 15)
Orbital Insertion Altitude: 122 nautical miles (226 kilometers)
Orbit Inclination: 51.60°
Orbit Period: 91.6 minutes (201 orbits)
Duration: 13 days
Flight Stats: 119th Shuttle flight (20th for Endeavour)
Launch On Need: STS-322 (Discovery)

Mission info from NASA, CSA, and Spaceflight Now! websites

STS-118
STS-118 Press Kit cover. NASA PHOTO NO: JSC2007-E-32883Space Shuttle Endeavour's STS-118 mission is the 22nd shuttle flight to the International Space Station. It will continue space station construction by delivering a third starboard truss segment. It's also the first flight of an Educator Astronaut, Mission Specialist Barbara R. Morgan.
+ Visit the STS-118 Educators' Resource Page

U.S. Navy Commander Scott J. Kelly will command the seven-person crew of STS-118. U.S. Marine Corps Lt. Col Charles O. Hobaugh will be Endeavour's pilot. Veteran astronauts Richard A. Mastracchio and Dr. Dafydd (Dave) Williams of the Canadian Space Agency will be returning to space for their second missions. Barbara R. Morgan, Tracy E. Caldwell, Ph. D., and Benjamin Alvin Drew round out the crew as mission specialists. CSA astronaut Dave Williams STS-118 mission patch. (Image: Canadian Space Agency)

[From the Press Kit:] Themissionisbaselinedasan11-dayflightspanning12flightdays. AfterthenewStation-to-ShuttlePowerTransferSystem(SSPTS) is activated and checked out, the flight will be extended to 14 days with landing on flight day 15. The first eight flight days of the mission will be identical with or without an extension.




Copyright 1999-2009 Constellation Technology Services LLC. All rights reserved. Top of page Home
Revised: 10 Jan 2009