STS-116 Mission Journal  

STS-116 Mission Overview

Note: The links below will open up in one new browser window. For best viewing, size the two web browsers so that they don't take up the entire screen - this way, you will be able to go back and forth to all the stories without losing your place.
Click the Refresh button to make sure you have the newest version.

New! NASA Gifts and more at The Space Store!

Pick up some cool Space Toys for your favorite astronaut this holiday season! Click here...

Check our NASA TV page for live feeds!


Discovery's crew. Image courtesy of NASA.
Discovery Lands At KSC
NASA image of the STS-116 mission patch.
LEFT: STS-116 crew portrait.
RIGHT: STS-116 Mission Patch. 

Mission Journal Updates

STS-116 Updated Flight Facts

Mission:   International Space Station Flight 12A1.1
Orbiter: Discovery (OV-103)
Primary Payload: ISS P5 Truss
Crew: 7 (6 US, 1 Swede) - 1 US - ISS Up/1 German - ISS Down)
Launch Date: Saturday, 9 December 2006
Launch Time: 8:47PM EST (01:47 GMT 10 Dec)
Launch Window: 10 minutes
Launch Facility: Kennedy Space Center, Pad 39B
Docking: FD-3: 11 Dec 2006, 5:05PM EST (2205 GMT)
EVAs: 4 Spacewalks (was 3)
Undocking: FD-11: 19 Dec 2006, 5:10PM EST (2210 GMT)
Landing: FD-13: 22 Dec 2006, 5:32PM EST (2232 GMT)
Landing Facility: Kennedy Space Center, Runway 15
Orbital Insertion Altitude: 122 nautical miles (226 kilometers)
Orbit Inclination: 51.60
Orbit Period: 91.6 minutes (204 orbits)
Duration: 12 Days, 20:45:16 (to wheel stop)
Flight Stats: 117th Shuttle flight (33rd for Discovery)
Launch On Need: STS-317 (Atlantis)

Mission info from NASA, ESA, and Spaceflight Now! websites

Copyright 1999-2009 Constellation Technology Services LLC. All rights reserved. Top of page Home
Revised: 10 Jan 2009