STS-115 Mission Journal  

STS-115 Mission Overview

Note: The links below will open up in one new browser window. For best viewing, size the two web browsers so that they don't take up the entire screen - this way, you will be able to go back and forth to all the stories without losing your place.
Click the Refresh button to make sure you have the newest version.

New! NASA Gifts and more at The Space Store!

Pick up some cool Space Toys for your favorite astronaut this holiday season! Click here...

Check our NASA TV page for live feeds!


The Atlantis Astronauts, (L-R): Stefanyshyn-Piper, Ferguson, Tanner, Burbank, Jett, MacLean. Image courtesy of NASA.
SHUTTLE UPDATE: Atlantis Lands at KSC
NASA image of the STS-115 mission patch.
LEFT: Official NASA STS-115 crew portrait. (L-R): Stefanyshyn-Piper, Ferguson, Tanner, Burbank, Jett, MacLean.
RIGHT: STS-115 Mission Patch. 

Latest Mission News

STS-115 Updated Flight Facts

Mission:   International Space Station Assembly Mission 12A
Orbiter: Atlantis (OV-104)
Primary Payload: ISS P3/P4 Truss
Crew: 6 (5 US, 1 Canadian)
Launch Date: Saturday, 9 Sep 2006
Launch Time: 11:14AM EDT (1514 GMT)
Launch Window: 10 minutes
Launch Facility: Kennedy Space Center, Pad 39B
Docking: 11 Sep 2006, 6:46AM EDT (1046 GMT)
EVAs: 3 Spacewalks
Undocking: 17 Sep 2006, 8:50AM EDT (1250 GMT)
Landing: 21 Sep 2006, 6:21AM EDT (1021 GMT)
Landing Facility: Kennedy Space Center Runway 33
Orbital Insertion Altitude: 122 nautical miles (226 kilometers)
Orbit Inclination: 51.60°
Orbit Period: 91.6 minutes (Rev 186 Deorbit)
Duration: 11 Days, 19 Hours, 7 Minutes
Flight stats: 116th Shuttle flight (27th for Atlantis)

Mission info from NASA, CSA, and Spaceflight Now! websites

STS-115: The Crew and Mission Ahead
The STS-115 crew members pause for a photo on Launch Pad 39B. From left are Mission Commander Brent Jett, Pilot Chris Ferguson, and Mission Specialists Daniel Burbank, Steven MacLean, Heidemarie Stefanyshyn-Piper and Joseph Tanner. NASA PHOTO NO: KSC-06PD-1781The STS-115 crew consists of Commander Brent W. Jett Jr., Pilot Christopher J. Ferguson and Mission Specialists Heidemarie M. Stefanyshyn-Piper, Joseph R. Tanner, Daniel C. Burbank and Steven G. MacLean, who represents the Canadian Space Agency.
+ Learn more about the crew

With this mission, NASA is ready to get back to building the International Space Station, marking the first time in almost four years that a space station component has been added to the orbiting outpost. That also means the shuttle program is coming up on some of the most challenging space missions ever.
+ Learn more about the mission

During their three spacewalks, crew members of Atlantis will install the P3/P4 integrated truss and a second set of solar arrays on the space station, doubling the station’s current ability to generate power from sunlight and adding 17.5 tons to its mass.
+ Learn more about the truss

Media Resources
+ Press Kit (PDF 3.2 Mb)
+ STS-115 Fact Sheet (122 Kb PDF)
+ STS-115 TV Schedule
+ Aug. 25 Lightning Photos
+ View Images

Copyright © 1999-2009 Constellation Technology Services LLC. All rights reserved. Top of page Home
Revised: 10 Jan 2009