STS-114 Mission Journal  

STS-114 Mission Overview

Note: The links below will open up in one new browser window. For best viewing, size the two web browsers so that they don't take up the entire screen - this way, you will be able to go back and forth to all the stories without losing your place.
Click the Refresh button to make sure you have the newest version.


New! NASA Gifts and more at The Space Store!

Pick up some cool Space Toys for your favorite astronaut this holiday season! Click here...

Check our NASA TV page for live feeds!

 

NASA portrait of the STS-114 crew.
SHUTTLE UPDATE:
DISCOVERY LANDS!
NASA image of the STS-114 mission patch.
LEFT: (L-R) Robinson, Kelly, Thomas, Lawrence, Camarda, Collins, Noguchi
RIGHT: STS-114 Mission Patch. 

Latest Mission News


STS-114 Updated Flight Facts

Mission:   International Space Station Flight LF1
Orbiter: Discovery (OV-103)
Payload: Raffaello MPLM, External Stowage Platform 2, Control Moment Gyro
Crew: 7 (6 US, 1 Japan)
Launch Date: Tuesday, 26 July 2005
Launch Time: 10:39AM EDT (1439 GMT)
Launch Window: 10 minutes
Launch Facility: Kennedy Space Center, Pad 39B
Docking: 28 July 2005, 7:18AM EDT (1118 GMT)
EVAs: 3 Spacewalks
Undocking: 6 August 2005, 3:22AM EDT (0722 GMT)
Landing: 9 August 2005, 8:12AM EDT (1212 GMT)
Landing Facility: Edwards AFB, Runway 22 (KSC was primary)
Orbital Insertion Altitude: 122 nautical miles (226 kilometers)
Orbit Inclination: 51.60°
Orbit Period: 91.6 minutes (219 orbits)
Duration: 13 Days, 21:33:36
Flight stats: 114th Shuttle flight (31st for Discovery)

Mission info from NASA Return To Flight, JAXA, CSA, and Spaceflight Now! websites

STS-114 to Demonstrate Repair Techniques, Deliver Equipment to Space Station
NASA artwork for the Return To Flight.The STS-114 crewmembers will deliver supplies to the International Space Station, but the major focus of their mission will be testing and evaluating new Space Shuttle flight safety, which includes new inspection and repair techniques.
STS-114 is classified as Logistics Flight 1. Among the Station-related activities are delivering new supplies and replacing one of the orbital outpost's Control Moment Gyroscopes (CMGs). STS-114 will also carry the Raffaello Multi-Purpose Logistics Module and the External Stowage Platform-2.
The crew is slated to conduct at least three spacewalks while at the ISS. The first spacewalk will demonstrate repair techniques of the Shuttle's Thermal Protection System. During the second, the spacewalkers will replace the failed CMG with one delivered by the Shuttle. On the third, they will install the External Stowage Platform.


Note: We have divided the Mission Journals into seven sections for faster downloading. Updates are presented with newest dates on top, with Part 7 covering the Landing and beyond; Part 6 covering the Landing Attempts; Part 5 covering the third EVA and Undocking; Part 4 covering the second EVA; Part 3 covering the Docking with the ISS, and the first EVA; Part 2 covering the Launch; and Part 1 covering all Preflight activities.



Copyright 1999-2009 Constellation Technology Services LLC. All rights reserved. Top of page Home
Revised: 10 Jan 2009