STS-112 Mission Journal  

STS-112 Mission Overview

Note: The links below will open up in one new browser window. For best viewing, size the two web browsers so that they don't take up the entire screen - this way, you will be able to go back and forth to all the stories without losing your place.
Click the Refresh button to make sure you have the newest version.

New! NASA Gifts and more at The Space Store!

Pick up some cool Space Toys for your favorite astronaut this holiday season! Click here...

Check our NASA TV page for live feeds!

STS-112 Crew Portrait. Photo courtesy of NASA. Shuttle Atlantis has landed! NASA image of STS-112 crew patch, representing the addition of the S1 Truss to Space Station Alpha's structure.
LEFT: STS-112 crew portrait
RIGHT: STS-112 Mission Patch.

Latest Mission News

Countdown    Shuttle (ground) Status    Liftoff Status

STS-112 Updated Flight Facts:

Mission:   International Space Station Flight 9A
Orbiter: Atlantis (OV-104)
Crew: 6 (5 USA, 1 Russian)
Duration: 10 Days, 19 Hours, 19 minutes
Launch Date: Monday, 07 October 2002
Launch Time: 3:46PM EDT (1946 GMT)
Launch Window: 5 minutes
Launch Facility: KSC, Pad 39B
Docking: 09 October 2002, 11:24AM EDT (1524 GMT)
EVAs: 3 Spacewalks
Undocking: 16 October 2002, 9:14AM EDT (1314 GMT)
Landing: 18 October 2002, 11:46AM EDT (1546 GMT)
Landing Facility: Kennedy Space Center (target)
Orbit Altitude: 122 nautical miles (226 kilometers)
Orbit Inclination: 51.60
Flight stats: 111th Shuttle flight (26th for Atlantis)

Mission info from NASA Human Spaceflight and Kennedy Space Center webs


STS-112 to Deliver S1 Truss to Station, Conduct 3 Spacewalks
STS112 crewmembers standing under a Space Station truss. NASA Photo Number: KSC-02PD-0324STS-112 will set the stage for the outward expansion of the International Space Station with the delivery of the S1 (S-One) Truss. The STS-112 crew will perform three spacewalks to install, activate and outfit the S1, which will be attached to the starboard end of the S0 (S-Zero) Truss.
Astronaut Jeff Ashby is STS-112's commander and Astronaut Pam Melroy will serve as pilot. Astronauts Sandy Magnus, David Wolf and Piers Sellers and Cosmonaut Fyodor Yurchikhin are mission specialists. Wolf and Sellers will conduct the spacewalks.
STS-112 will be the 15th shuttle mission to visit the space station and the 26th flight of Space Shuttle Atlantis.

Note: We have divided the Mission Journals into five sections for faster downloading. Updates are presented with newest dates on top, with Part 5 covering undocking through landing; Part 4 covering the last EVA; Part 3 covering the first two EVAs; Part 2 covering liftoff through docking; and Part 1 covering all Preflight activities (including launch scrubs, if any).

Copyright 1999-2009 Constellation Technology Services LLC. All rights reserved. Top of page Home
Revised: 10 Jan 2009